





EU – India Business Roundtable

Purpose: to discuss business proposals on how the EU and India can strengthen bilateral cooperation in the areas of digital, health and climate and increase trade and investment.

Format: virtual event

Date and Time: 8 May | 10h30-16h30 Portugal time | 11h30-17h30 Brussels time | 15h00-21h00 India time

Programme

| Brussels time |

<u>11h30</u> Welcome words by Mr António Saraiva | President of CIP – Confederation of <u>Portuguese Business</u>

11h35-11h45 Opening Remarks

- Opening remarks by Mr Chandrajit Banerjee | Director General of CII Confederation of Indian Industry
- Opening Remarks by Mr Markus J. Beyrer | Director General of BusinessEurope Confederation of European Business

<u>11h45-12h00</u> Keynote speech by Mr Werner Hoyer | President of the EIB – European Investment Bank

12h00-13h00 Panel Debate on Digitalisation

Speakers:

- Mr Sapthagiri Chapalapalli | Europe CEO of Tata Consultancy Services
- Mr C P Gurnani | Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Tech Mahindra
- Mr Dr. Helmut Gassel | Member of the Management Board and Chief Marketing Officer of Infineon Technologies AG
- Mr Marc Pasquet | President for Africa, India and Middle East of Michelin

Moderator:

• Mr Rene Summer | Director of Government and Industry Relations of Ericsson Group







13h00-14h00 Panel Debate on Health

- Mr Nelson Pires | Managing Director UK, Ireland, Palops, Nigeria and Mauritania of Jaba Recordati Portugal
- Mrs Suchitra Ella | Joint Managing Director of Bharat Biotech
- Mr Luís Drummond Borges | Board Member of Lusíadas Saúde and of Portuguese Association for Private Hospitals
- Mr Shashank ND | Co-Founder and CEO of Practo Technologies (tbc)

Moderator:

• Ms Shobana Kamineni | Executive Vice Chairperson of Apollo Hospitals Enterprise Limited

14h00-15h15 Lunch Break

<u>15h15-15h45</u> Session with Mr Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission, and Piyush Goyal, Minister of Commerce of India

15h45-16h45 Panel Debate on Climate

Speakers:

- Mr Joe Kaeser | Chairman of the Asia-Pacific Committee of German Business and Supervisory Board Chairman of Siemens Energy
- Mr Alexandre Ziegler | Senior Executive Vice President International and Public Affairs of Safran
- Mr Sanjiv Puri | Chairman and Managing Director of ITC Limited
- Mr R Mukundan | Managing Director of Tata Chemicals Limited

Moderator:

• Mr Ângelo Ramalho | Chairman of the Board of Directors and CEO of EFACEC

17h00-17h30 Presentation of Business Declaration and Closing Session

- Mr António Saraiva, President of Confederation of Portuguese Business, Mr Pierre Gattaz, President of BusinessEurope and T V Narendran, President-Designate of Confederation of Indian Industry
- Closing remarks by Mr Narendra Modi | Prime Minister of India (tbc)
- Closing remarks by Ms Ursula von der Leyen | President of the European Commission (tbc)
- Closing remarks by Mr António Costa | Prime Minister of Portugal